A LONG-established New Year’s Day tradition was fulfilled when 169th Holcombe Old English Gamefowl show was staged on Tuesday.

The event, held at the Royal British Legion in Ramsbottom, attracted 22 exhibitors who showed 91 birds.

Entrants had travelled from as far as Derbyshire, Lincolnshire, Staffordshire and County Durham, as well as many parts of Lancashire and Greater Manchester.

The judges were Colin Haworth, from Edenfield, and Dick Brearey, from Yorkshire.

Russell Taylor, the show’s honorary secretary, said: “It was another very successful show, with many local people visiting to support a tradition which has been upheld since 1843.

“A country raffle was run with the traditional prizes being donated by Scotts Game of Barnoldswick.”

The results were: l Cock Class for the Oxford Centenary Cup.

1st: Mr Gavin Young, Durham 2nd: Mr Michael Durkin, Hoghton 3rd: Mr Eamon Fletcher, Chesterfield l Hen Class for the Sam Jackson Cup.

1st: Mr C and Master J Sykes, Burnley 2nd: Mr M. Durkin, Hoghton 3rd: Mr Peter Durber, Stoke on Trent.

l Stag Class for the Millie Whittaker Rosebowl.

1st: Mr C and Master J Sykes, Burnley 2nd: Mr Todd Fletcher, Chesterfield 3rd: Mr Frank De Castro, Bardney.

l Pullet Class for the Harold Haworth Cup.

1st: Mr M. Durkin, Hoghton.

2nd: Miss Ella Durkin, Hoghton.

3rd: Mr R Kane, Wirral.

l Local Class for the Tom Randle Haworth Trophy.

1st: Mr Colin F Haworth, Haslingden.

2nd: Mr C and Master J Sykes, Burnley 3rd: Mr C and Master J Sykes, Burnley.

l The Mary Shaw Cup for the best bird in show was won by Michael Durkin with the winner of the Pullet class.