Comprehensive win for champions-elect

First published in Table Tennis

TREBLES from Andy Jackson and Mark Ramsbottom helped Ramsbottom Town A maintain a tight grip on the Division One title race in the Bury and District Table Tennis League.

The league leaders scored a comprehensive 9-1 win at Burning Desire, keeping them ahead of second-placed Radcliffe Cricket Club, who trounced Prestwich A 10-0. Rob Hall, Phil Biggs and Mick Dore were the unbeaten Radcliffe trio.

Bottom side St Philip’s beat Prestwich B 8-2 at home thanks to three wins each from Dennis Collier and Brett Haslam.

BAE also won 8-2 at home against Prestwich C. Tom Lang and Tony Bates were unbeaten for BAE.

Maccabi A beat Carlton Vale 9-1 at home to maintain a five-point lead in Division Two, with Dean Clyne and Stuart Landes scoring three wins apiece.

Second-placed Seedfield Methodists A kept the pressure on though, beating Prestwich D 8-2 at home thanks to trebles from David Poytress and Peter Mears.

Seedfield remain in the second promotion spot, four points ahead of SP Carlton, who 7-3 at bottom side Holmar A despite only having two players. John Biggins and Dave Holden both won their three matches and claimed the doubles.

Prestwich E moved out of the drop zone with a 6-4 win at home to Elton Vale A. None of the Prestwich players could get the better of Graham Daniels.

Polish Catholic Club were a man down, but still managed to win 6-4 at Carlton Club B. Ian Byrne was unbeaten for Polish.

Division Three leaders Hilton YMCA are assured of promotion after claiming the last two sets of the night to earn a hard-fought 6-4 win at second-bottom Shawfield A.

Ramsbottom Town B clinched the doubles at nine in the fifth to edge second-placed Seedfield B 6-4 at home. Neil Booth made the difference with three wins for Ramsbottom.

Maccabi C stayed out of the relegation places thanks to a comprehensive 10-0 away win over an under-strength Seedfield C side in Division Three. Alan Nesbit and brothers Marc and Daniel Sheldon were the unbeaten Maccabi players.

Carlton Club C drew at home with Shawfield B. Carlton’s John Bostock was the only player to remain unbeaten.

Maccabi B beat Elton Vale B 8-2 at home. Robert Clayton and Robert Williams were unbeaten for Maccabi.

Prestwich F extended their lead at the top of Division Four with a 10-0 win over bottom side Holmar C. Alistair Wakefield won his three to keep him at the top of the averages, and there were also trebles for Paul Rourke.

Second-placed Shawfield C secured promotion with an 8-2 home win over Maccabi E. Peter Gregory was the unbeaten player for Shawfield.

Shawfield D gave themselves a two-point cushion over relegation rivals Prestwich G with one match to play after beating them 6-4 away from home. Bob Goodman won his customary three for Prestwich but it wasn’t enough.

Bury Grammar School Old Boys A beat junior team Ramsbottom Table Tennis Academy A 6-4 at home. Barry Warburton and Andy Evans were unbeaten for Bury Grammar.

Maccabi D beat their F team 6-4 thanks to a treble from Sheldon Lee.

Division Five leaders Shawfield E showed their title-winning class with a 9-1 win over their G team. James Collier and Peter Helmn were the unbeaten players on the night.

Bottom side Seedfield E lost 9-1 to another junior team, Maccabi G, with Sam Ballin and Ashley Landes winning their three.

ELPM D beat Seedfield D 8-2 at home. Anthony Vindice and Lawrence Paynter were unbeaten for ELPM.

Ramsbottom TT Academy B were beaten 7-3 at home by Holmar D, despite the heroics of eight-year-old Amir Hussain, who won his three.

An under-strength Wardle Conservative Club drew 5-5 at home to Shawfield G.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree