THE top council jobs were confirmed at a meeting today.

Veteran councillor Trevor Holt is mayor for the second time in his 36-year career at the council.

The former cabinet member will chair full council meetings as well as the standards committee.

In a break from convention, his predecessor, Cllr Jane Black, will not serve as deputy mayor but as cabinet member for corporate affairs and human resources instead.

In her place, Labour councillor Shaheena Haroon has become the first Muslim woman to be given a mayoral role, serving as Cllr Holt’s deputy.

Council leader Rishi Shori told the Bury Times he is “absolutely delighted” to offer Cllr Haroon the role.

He said: “She’s a former Bury Woman of the Year and has consistently been a role model for women in the Asian community. She’s a fantastic role model for all woman.”

High-profile councillor Tamoor Tariq has been given the children and families portfolio, swapping with Sharon Briggs who is now the cabinet member for communities.

Opposition leader James Daly, who will be the shadow member for Cllr Shori’s economic growth and transport portfolio, questioned the changes.

He said: “This is a crucial year for Bury and I’m surprised by some of those appointed to cabinet portfolios especially when there are a number of talented individuals on Labour’s backbench who appear to have been ignored but would, in my opinion, have been a real asset to the cabinet and tackle the issues Bury faces.”

Conservative councillor Nick Jones has become Cllr Daly’s deputy and will shadow the finance and housing portfolio. Fellow Tory ward councillor Bob Caserta will chair the overview and scrutiny committee while Labour councillor Stella Smith will chair the health scrutiny committee.

Cllr Gavin McGill will chair the planning and control committee and Cllr Tahir Rafiq will chair the licensing and safety panel. Cllr Mary Whitby will stay in her role as chair of the audit committee.

Cabinet member for health and wellbeing Andrea Simpson will stays in her position as deputy leader of the council.

Meanwhile, Cllr Eamonn O’Brien will keep the finance and housing portfolio and Cllr Alan Quinn keeps the environment portfolio.

Councillors Rhyse Cathcart and Tony Cummings are still deputy cabinet members.

Councillors Kevin Thomas, Karen Leach and Richard Gold have all been given new deputy cabinet roles.

On the opposite side, councillors Dorothy Gunther, Paul Cropper and Ian Schofield have all been given shadow cabinet roles.

Cllr Tim Pickstone will remain Lib Dem leader with newly-elected Cllr Cristina Tegolo as his deputy.