VOTERS are going to the polls today to elect the region’s eight Members of the European Parliament (MEPs.)

Polling stations opened at 7am this morning and will remain open until 10pm tonight.

MEPs represent the whole of the North West region and so everybody who is eligible to vote in the region will be voting from the same list of parties and individual candidates.

The European Parliamentary Elections are conducted using a form of proportional representation.

Each elector has one vote, which can be cast for a political party or an individual candidate.

The allocation of the eight MEP positions will depend on the overall share of the vote that a party or individual candidate receives across the region.

Counts will take place across the North West on Sunday, May 26, with the overall regional result being declared in Manchester on the night.

Here is the full list of candidates for the North West, shown in party list order:

Change UK

Andrea Cooper

Dan Price

Arun Banerji

Michael Taylor

Philippa Olive

Victoria Desmond

Andrew Graystone

Elisabeth Knight


Sajjad Karim

Kevin Beaty

Jane Howard

Arnold Saunders

Wendy Maisey

Thomas Lord

Anthony Pickles

Attika Choudhary

English Democrats

Stephen Morris

Valerie Morris


Gina Dowding

Wendy Olsen

Jessica Northey

Geraldine Coggins

Rosie Mills

Astrid Johnson

Daniel Jerrome

James Booth


Theresa Griffin

Julie Ward

Wajid Khan

Erica Lewis

David Brennan

Claire Cozler

Saf Ismail

Yvonne Tennant

Liberal Democrats

Chris Davies

Jane Brophy

Helen Foster-Grime

Anna Fryer

Sam Al-Hamdani

Rebecca Forrest

John Studholme

Frederick Van Mierlo

The Brexit Party

Claire Fox

Henrik Overgaard Nielsen

David Bull

Gary Harvey

Ajay Jagota

Elizabeth Babade

Sally Bate

John Kelly

UK European Union Party

Sophie Larroque


Adam Richardson

Jeff Armstrong

Fiona Mills

Nathan Ryding

Michael Felse

Ben Fryer

John Booker

Alexander Craig


Mohmmad Aslam

Tommy Robinson

Joanne Roney OBE, regional returning officer for the European Elections in the North West, said: “There are more than five million eligible electors across the North West in 39 different local authority areas.

"Some have already voted by post. We don’t want anyone who wants to vote to miss out and are keen to ensure that those who are voting in person are aware of polling day arrangements.

“Your poll card will show which polling station you need to vote at, or you can check your local authority website.

"You will only be able to vote in person at this polling station. But you don’t need to have your poll card with you to be able to vote.”