PUPILS, staff and parents at Bury Grammar Girls School reflected on a year of triumphs and memories at their annual prizegiving ceremony.

The girls were rewarded for their numerous achievements both in and out of the classroom with former pupil Bridget McIntyre, now UK director of Sun Alliance, returning to hand out the prizes to the school's highest achievers.

Headteacher Bobby Georghiou praised the girls at the ceremony, held at the Bridgewater Hall, noting their success in music, sport and charity work, which has raised more than £10,000. The school, in Bridge Road, has also celebrated 100 years in partnership with the nearby boys' school.

Mrs Georghiou said: "There cannot be many friendships which last for a hundred years and remain as strong as ever but such is the case in the two Bury Grammar Schools.

"Our students' examination results are formidable achievements and yet they are only part of the story for tomorrow's successful women. To all our leavers now and in the future I say "swans do everything". Go on girls - fly the nest and take on the world."

Prizes and awards

Upper Third, Form Prizes
Katherine Threlfall, Tess Richardson, Zoe Jackson, Hannah Ramsbottom

PE Prize
Catherine Sumner

Creative and Artistic Achievement Prize
Rosie Colvin

Lower Fourth, Form Prizes
Henrietta Demain, Georgia Derbyshire, Sophie Jones, Zainab Al-Dubbaisi, Rosie Leach, Ellice Rigby

PE Prize
Sascha Eady

Creative and Artistic Achievement Prize
Florence Buckley

Upper Fourth, Form Prizes
Jessica Whiting, Anneessa Mahmood, Laura Stoker,Hannah Tilley, Chloe Evenson

PE Prize
Kathryn Cross

Creative and Artistic Achievement Prize
Imogen Richards

Lower Fifth, Year Prizes
Alex Clayton, Robyn Gittens, Sophie Greenhalgh, Alex Griffiths, Phillippa Jackson, Amy Kerr, Bethan Lomax, Ashleigh Mullen, Caitlin Parr, Alycia Pylypczuk, Jessica Shepherd

PE Prize
Katey Jason

Creative and Artistic Achievement Prize
Kate Maxwell

Upper Fifth, Oliver Entwistle prizes
Uzma Ahmed, Lucy Hopwood, Emily Bailey, Jennifer Horrocks, Lori Black, Abigail Irozuru, Helen Butterworth, Sian Mason, Katie Chadwick, Jemma Mistry, Aarushi Gangahar, Samantha Patchick, Tabitha Georghiou, Jessica Pursglove,Sarah Halstead, Rahima Rashid, Elizabeth Hampson, Ayesha Saleem, Anna Hartley, Jessica Shepherd, Caecilie Hobhouse,Susan Taylor

PE Prize
Helen Wakefield

Pavilion Prize for Designer Potential
Sophie Beswick

The Broxap Fine Art Prize
Victoria Bolton

The Edith Reed Music Prize
Natalie Robinson

The Food Technology Prize
Larissa Don

The Elsie Farraday Prize for Creative Textiles
Anisha Seedat

The Alexandra Moore Poetry Prize
Sarah Nixon

Lower Sixth Prizes

Herbert Webb Memorial Prizes
Aparna Madhavan, Charlotte Green

Art & Design
Philippa Hoyle

Elizabeth Hulmes

Business Studies
Elizabeth Howarth

Michaela Don

Classical Civilisation
Shireen Sadreddini

Rebecca Allen

English Language
Katie Leach

English Literature
Lauren Dupelycz

The Elsie Taylor Prize for Geography
Nichola Leach

General Studies
Helen Mort

Government and Politics
Charlotte Maher

Laura Broome

The Rachel Ross Prize for Mathematics
Hannah Lennon

The Jean Mullineaux Prize for French
Lauren Jones

Penelope Lawton

Chloe Vites

Religious Studies
Dawn Abrahams, Natasha Long

Fiona Dickinson

Theatre Studies
Jaya Rudravajhala

Prizes for Academic Achievement
Aishwarya Baskar

Prize for Creative and Artistic Achievement
Catherine Burgess

The McDonald Prize for Character
Bryony Clarke

The Soroptimist Shield for Service to the Community
Sarah Ross

The Orchestra Prize
Elizabeth Hulmes

PE Prize
Jennifer Cross

The Mellor Scholarship
Laura Spencer

The Calrow Exhibition
Katie Schofield, Kay Leaving Exhibitions, Agnetha Jones, Carol Doan

The Dorothy Lester Prizes
Charlotte Scott, Zoe Zammit

The Art Prize
Emma White

The German Prize
Charlotte Scott

The H T Farrar Prize for Biology
Saira Ali

The Business Studies Prize
Sophie Kelly

The Samuel and Elizabeth Lord Prize for Chemistry
Alisha Chacko

The Daisy Orme Prize for Classics
Zoe Zammit

The Sonia James Prize for English Language
Zahra Masood

The James Ramsden Prize for Literature
Natalie Bursk

The Eleanor Pemberton Cup for French
Carol Doan

The Henry Webb Memorial Prize for Geography
Natasha Muszanskyj

The Julie Ashworth Memorial Prize for Physical Geography
Sophie Larcombe

The Neild Prize for History
Sara Petela

The Sarah Alcock Prize for Mathematics
Agnetha Jones

The Mathematics and Statistics Prize
Rebecca Dowling

The Music Prize
Katie Schofield

The J M Farraday Prizefor Physics
Laura Spencer

The Politics Prize
Laura Taylor

The Psychology Prize
Carly Stillwell

The Ryan Prize for Religious Education
Victoria Abrahams

Prizes for Academic Achievement
Charlotte Buckley, Pippa Cole, Katherine Hodge Kirsten Pearce ,Emma Petela ,Aysha Seedat, Natasha Sultan, Elizabeth Tait, Laura Warburton

The Canon Smith Prize for Service to the School
Amy Parry

The Cecil Heap Memorial Prize for General Studies
Charlotte Scott

The Barbara Powell Prize for Musical Performance
Zahra Masood

The Choir Prize
Laura Taylor

The Centenary Trophy for Service to the School
Fiona Dickinson

The John Moores University Prize for Good Citizenship
Sumayya Akhtar

The Dorothy Lester Travel Scholarship
Charlotte Buckley

The Deputy Sports Captain's Prize
Katie Halstead

The Sports Captain's Prize
Emma Petela

The Deputy Head Girl's Prize
Charlotte Scott

The Head Girl's Prize
Natasha Muszanskyj


The Calrow Trophy

The Charity Trophy
U4P / U4K

The Victory Trophy
Jessica Mortimer

The Sports Day Cup
Kitchener and Perigo