BURY AC's annual presentation evening saw a host of members pick up awards.

More than 70 club members and their families and friends attended Bury Masonic Hall on Saturday to celebrate the achievements in 2019.

The presentation got under way with club chair Mark Granby presenting the chain of office to newly-elected honorary president Jean Simpson MBE, who has been a member of Bury AC since 1960 and from representing the club as an athlete initially she moved on to become an official and committee member as well as supporting athletics at a county, regional and national level.

She presented awards to the respective recipients starting with the coaches’ nominations for their male and female athlete of the year in the different age categories.

The winners were: Under-11s – Jantzen White and Evie Elliott; u13s – Finley Collings and Anna Gisbourne; u15s – Jay Cook and Freya Potts; u17s – David Vaughan and Charlie Ireland; u20s – Nathan Shepherd and Heledd Rimmer; seniors – Josh Birmingham and Hannah Price; masters – Paul Johnston and Rachel Marshall.

The prizes for the seniors Grand Prix series of races were next to be awarded.

Prizes go to the athlete amassing the greatest number of points from a series of different races with awards to the male and female senior and masters competitors.

The winners were: Seniors – Patrick Babb and Lizzi Cheshire; masters – Paul Johnston and Katie Geelan.

Next came the team manager awards for male and female athlete of the league for the YDL Lower League, the YDL Upper League, the Cheshire League and the North of England League.

The winners were: YDL Lower – Finley Collings and Grace Gibson; YDL Upper – David Vaughan and Hattie Vaughan; Cheshire – Adam Warren and Jemima Miles; North of England – Luke Harreld and Hannah Price.

The committee awards were: Best Club Member –  Alison Dale; Most Improved Athlete – Josh Birmingham; Sandra Newton Memorial Award – Hattie Vaughan.

Finally Amateur Athletic Association standards certificates and badges were presented to all of the athletes who had achieved national standards in a competition this year.

The recipients were Anna Gisbourne, Freya Potts, Connie Potts, Reilly Carson, Devonne Samuels, Nyah Coates, Lola Potts, Peter Gardner, Thomas Donnelly, David Vaughan, Oliver Donnelly, Rashaun Currie and Grace Gibson.

This weekend focus turns back to competition when Bury athletes will be competing in the Greater Manchester Cross Country Championships at Manchester’s Boggart Hole Clough.