Radcliffe AC members got the new year off to a winning start at the Holcombe Howler Trail 10k and Half Marathon races.

Katie Percival was the winning woman and a fine eighth overall in the half marathon, completing the testing course which took in Holcombe Tower and Pilgrim’s Cross in 1:50:51.

In the 10k race, Craig Norman was third overall and second man in 53:20 while Donna Cartwright was fourth overall and second woman in 57:40.

Also running were Mark Garner who clocked 2:15:11 in the half marathon and Mike Scott who completed the 10k in 1:30:15.

Three members rounded off 2019 by taking to the hills on New Year’s Eve.

Andy Haines had fine conditions when he completed the 6.7-mile Auld Lang Syne Fell Race in the Pennines, which had 984ft of ascent, in 1.00.27.

Mark Wolfenden and Paul Swyers took on around four miles and 1,348ft of climbing at Wormstones Fell Race in the Peak District, clocking 55:06 and 1:02:09 respectively.

Meanwhile, Lisa Carter headed to North Yorkshire on New Year’s Day for the five-mile Captain Cook’s Fell Race, completing the 1,043ft of climbing in 49.35.

Several members celebrated New Year’s Day by taking part in not one but two parkruns.

Steven Fawcett ran 21:39 at Delamere parkrun where Deborah Cliff clocked 33:03 while recovering from a broken foot. They then ran 25:04 and 33:14 respectively at Northwich parkrun.

Vince Ashton ran 29:42 at Ormskirk parkrun followed by 29:52 at Tawd Valley in Skelmersdale, his 86th different parkrun venue, while Sheila Jones did the double by clocking 27:21 at Chester and 30:25 at Wepre in Wales.

Elaine Bailey completed Nostell Priory parkrun in 30:17 and Frickley parkrun in 31:04, both in West Yorkshire.

Garner and Bev Quinton ran 20:58 and 35:06 respectively at South Manchester then 20:43 and 36:44 at Stretford.

At Burnley parkrun Nick Barnes ran 25:03, Helen Sandiford 29:01, Lisa Donnelly 33:11 and Christine Berry 40:14; Nick and Helen then clocked 26:13 and 31:55 at Hyndburn.

At Pennington Flash parkrun Dave Rushton finished in 25:21, Mike Scott 32:04 and Sarah Rushton 33:47.