AFTER a narrow victory at Bellingham, Holcombe Brook A require only one win from their remaining three matches to retain their Bolton Summer Tennis League Junior Division One title.

Peter Hyde won all his sets for Bellingham, partnered by Melissa Hart and Matt Roberts. His win with Melissa was Bellingham’s only success in the mixed.

Although the home side had the better of the boys’ sets, the Holcombe girls’ pairings, Alexia Thomasson and Natalie Wall and Beth Coton and Sarah Kidd won convincingly to clinch the match 7.5-4.5.

It is tight in the runners-up race. Tydesley A and Holcombe Brook B won their latest matches easily. Sets difference separates them with Bellingham a point behind.

David Lloyd (Manchester) look set to win Division Three and make it two promotions in two seasons. This week’s 10-2 victory over Hawkshaw B saw Leah and Anna Grace in their usual convincing form, ably supported by Chris McWilliams, Faraaz Ghaffur, Sam Burgum, Joe Stott and Molly Sweeney.

In Division Four, a competitive match was played out at Bradshaw with Eagley A the visitors. Scott Williams and Amy Hadjinicolau’s 6-4 win over Andrew Seal and Rachel Ault was crucial in giving leaders Bradshaw B a 3-1 lead after the mixed sets.

Eagley won three of the four boys’ sets, but the Bradshaw girls played in commanding style to make sure their team retained their unbeaten record.

Walmer are the only side with a realistic chance of catching them. They chalked up a comfortable 11-1 win over Barrow Bridge, a result, however, which flattered Walmer as there were several close sets all ending in their favour.

Walmer Men A had a 6.5-2.5 victory over Hawkshaw B in Division Two.

Paul Biggins and Phil Mansfield led the way as they won 6-0, 6-2, 6-4, closely followed by Dave Gerrard and Jay Hardy with 6-0, 6-4 and 6-6 scores.

Mark Booth and Mike Davies returned scores of 2-6, 6-1, 0-6 to complete the win during a difficult season for Walmer.

The Mens C team lost 5-4 at David Lloyd (Bolton) D in Division Seven. Brian Richards and Stu Donaldson lost 4-6, 6-3, 4-6, Julian Nuttall and John Biggins won 6-4, 6-3, 4-6, and Ian Wilde and Dave Worsley lost 6-3, 3-6, 3-6.

Walmer D won at home to Meadow Hill B to stay second in Division Nine.

Walmer Mixed A entertained Holcombe Brook B who provided an impressive all-round performance. Walmer lost early ground in the mixed section as Mike Davies and Lisa Morley and Dave Gerrard and Pam Leech each won 6-4, but Rick Morley and Gail Blackburn lost 2-6, and Mike Davies and Dianne Hardman went down 3-6.

In the Ladies section, Blackburn and Morley and Hardman and Leech each won a set by 6-5, but lost ground in their other sets. For the men, Morley and Mike won a set at 6-5, but the rest were lost and Walmer lost by 46-65.

Results Men Division One: Leigh CC A 1 Lostock A 8, Markland Hill A 5 Ellesmere A 4, David Lloyd (Chorley) A 4 Hawkshaw A 5, David Lloyd (Bolton) A 1.5 Holcombe Brook A 7.5.

Division Two: Lostock B 8 Bradshaw A 1, Holcombe Brook B 6.5 Longsight Meths A 2.5, Hawkshaw B 2.5 Walmer A 6.5, Ellesmere B 3.5 Tyldesley A 5.5.

Division Three: Winton 4 Leigh CC B 5, Chorley A 6 David Lloyd (Bolton) B 3, Elton Vale A 6.5 Ellesmere C 2.5, Claremont A 6 Markland Hill B 3.

Division Four: Tyldesley B 5 Barrow Bridge A 4, Walmer B 7.5 Markland Hill C 1.5, Longsight Meths B 5 Chorley B 4.

Division Five: Lostock C 7 Hawkshaw C 2, Holcombe Brook C 5 David Lloyd (Chorley) B 4, Leigh CC C 2 David Lloyd (Bolton) C 7.

Division Six: Meadow Hill A 3 Eagley A 6, Markland Hill D 4.5 Bolton CC 4.5, Eagley B 6.5 Lostock D 2.5.

Division Seven: David Lloyd (Bolton) D 5 Walmer C 4, Roe Green A 3 Elton Vale B 6, Hawkshaw D 0 Chorley C 9.

Division Eight: Chorley D 2 Claremont B 7, Ellesmere D 0 Holcombe Brook D 9, Barrow Bridge B 4.5 Bradshaw C 4.5.

Division Nine: Longsight Meths C 3 Hawkshaw E 6, Eagley C 7.5 Roe Green B 1.5, Walmer D 7 Meadow Hill B 2.

Mixed Division One: Hawkshaw A 65 Ellesmere A 30, Lostock B 52 David Lloyd (Bolton) A 55, Holcombe Brook A 72 Lostock A 37.

Division Two: David Lloyd (Manchester) 48 Hawkshaw B 53, Walmer A 46 Holcombe Brook B 65, David Lloyd (Bolton) B 59 David Lloyd (Chorley) 52.

Division Three: Bolton CC 47 David Lloyd (Bolton) C 57, Markland Hill B 68 Walkers 38, Bradshaw A 60 Lostock C 43.

Division Four: Lostock D 50 Bradshaw B 57, Markland Hill D 33 Markland Hill C 70, Holcombe Brook C 64 Walmer B 30.

Division Five: Lostock E 49 Holcombe Brook D 61, Longsight B 46 Bradshaw C 51, David Lloyd (Bolton) D 72 Meadow Hill 29.

Division Six: Ellesmere B 18 Barrow Bridge B 72, Lostock F 45 Elton Vale 60, Eagley B 18 Eagley A 72.

Cecil Cup Second Round Divisions One-Three: Markland Hill B Walkover v Walkers, Hawkshaw A 62 Bradshaw A 60.5, Walmer A 71 Longsight A 47.

Divisions Four-Six: Elton Vale 68 Eagley B 35, Holcombe Brook D 70 David Lloyd (Bolton) D 24, Bradshaw B 76 Markland Hill C 58, Eagley A 64 Lostock F 48.

Both groups now combine for round three on Sunday, June 20.

Over-50s: Lostock B 51 Meadow Hill 10, Hawkshaw 29 Walmer 33, Lostock A 36 Markland Hill 25.