BURY Athletic Club marked a successful year of competition with its annual presentation night at St Anne's Church Hall.

A host of awards were presented by the club's newly elected honorary president Charlie Deane.

They were split up into different categories, included those for top-performing athletes who had excelled in a range of competitions throughout the season, as well as special awards from team managers, coaches and the club committee.

The JT Ratcliffe Award for the most competitive athlete was awarded to under-13s star Jay Cook, who competed in more than 70 events in a Bury vest.

Grace Goodsell and Roger Morley were joint recipients of the the Sandra Newton Memorial Award for the best field event performance. Both Goodsell and Morley are ranked sixth in the country for the triple jump in their respective age groups.

The Best Club Member Award went to Alison Dale, who works tirelessly for the club – coaching, officiating, competing and volunteering, while the Most Improved Athlete Award went to Ben Coop, who also won the coach's male senior award and the men's Grand Prix prize.

Other recipients of prizes in the Grand Prix competition were Byron Edwards, who won the men's masters award, while Katie Geelan was women’s champion and Alison Dale won the women's masters prize.

The coaches' age group award were as follows: U11s – Finley Collings and Nyah Coates; u13s – Jay Cook, Gilbert Vaughan and Freya Potts; u15s – Brandon Quinton and Daisy Worthington; u17s – Stefan Kalambouka and Hattie Vaughan; u20s – Sophie Whittaker and Josh Birmingham; seniors – Ben Coop and Lizzi Cheshire; masters – Giles Bennett and Katie Geelan.

There were also prizes handed out by the managers of the Youth Development League, Cheshire League and North of England League teams.

Winners of the YDL Lower League prizes were Gilbert Vaughan and Katherine Townsend, while Sam Parkes and Charlotte Larkin won the YDL Upper League honours.

In the Cheshire League, team manager Brianne Turner chose Thomas Mahoney and Hattie Vaughan as her stand-out athletes.

Giles Bennett, the North of England League team manager, said choosing winners was a near impossible task following a string of impressive performances by athletes over the competition, but eventually selected Emmanuel Mufakzi and Nicola Quick.

Colin Smith was chosen in the draw for the club’s allocated place in the London Marathon, with five names going into the hat that had not been successful in the initial ballot.

Finally, a total of 29 athletes were presented with Amateur Athletic Association grade certificates and badges after each achieved at least one qualifying standard in competition over the summer.

AAA grades achieved

Grade one: Grace Goodsell (100m and long jump), Jerel Livingston (long jump), Brandon Quinton (1500m) and Daisy Worthington (800m, long jump and pentathlon).

Grade two: Marcus Dey (1500m), Grace Goodsell (200m), Brandon Quinton (800m), Hattie Vaughan (pole vault) and Daisy Worthington (300m, 75m hurdles and high jump).

Grade three: Patrick Clarke (high jump and long jump), James Coghlan (long jump), Jay Cook (high jump, shot and discus), Jena Dickinson (75m), Enya Hartley (75m), Abigail Howard (150m and 75m hurdles), Jerel Livingston (100m, 200m and 80m hurdles), Freya Potts (1200m), Charlotte Speakman-Farnworth (800m), Sophie Whittaker (3,000m), Nathan Witkowski (high jump), Francis Woodcock (1500m) and Daisy Worthington (200m and shot).

Grade four: Patrick Clarke (80m hurdles and pentathlon), James Coghlan 200m), Jay Cook (long jump and javelin), Jena Dickinson (100m, 200m and long jump), Oliver Donnelly (1500m), Amy Garroch (75m hurdles and javelin), Grace Gibson (800m), Grace Goodsell (high jump), Ella Hall (shot put), Enya Hartley (200m), Abigail Howard (100m and high jump), Erin Kenyon (1500m), Charlotte Larkin (100m), Jerel Livingston (high jump), Oliver Makinson (3,000m), Connie Potts (800m), Freya Potts (800m), Charlotte Speakman-Farnworth (300m and pentathlon), Katherine Townsend (300m and high jump), Millie Uprichard (75m, 150m and 200m), Gilbert Vaughan (800m, 1500m and discus), Gina Walker (200m), Nathan Witkowski (75m hurdles) and Daisy Worthington (javelin).