PRESTWICH B team took the bragging rights in Division One after beating their own C team 8-2, thanks to three victories from Andy Evans.

Bryan Beer and Dave Bolton each added two and they won the doubles. Lee Devenport and Peadar McKinstry each won one for the C team.

Radcliffe CC beat St Philips 9-1 at home as only the doubles went the way of the visitors – Jim Chadwick, Graham Jeffries and Mick Dore all winning their three for Radcliffe.

Prestwich A drew with Carlton Club A, with Duncan Hadfield taking three wins for the home side and Colin Boardman adding two.

Ian Quinn won two for Carlton, and Phil Myers and Gary Newton each won one before they wrapped up doubles success.

Ramsbottom Town A beat BAE 7-3 at home as Michael Moir opened his account for the season with three wins. Andy Jackson and Graham Young each won two but they could not take the doubles off the current Bury doubles champions Tom Lang and Tony Bates.

In Division Two, Seedfield A beat Carlton Club B 7-3, but it was the visitors’ Mark Reading who was unbeaten on the night. This included a close match with Peter Mears who eventually lost at three in the fifth.

Seedfield’s Andy Hamilton had to go to five for both of his wins when defeating Jim Bloomfield and John Foster. Julian Nuttall and Mears also won two each and they won the doubles in three straight games.

Holmar A lost 9-1 at home to Maccabi A, with Phil Wardle enjoying the solitary win for the visitors with a win over Dean Clyne.

Stuart Landes and Alan Meltzer were unbeaten for Maccabi and they won the doubles.

SP Carlton beat Prestwich E 6-4 with Tommy Ryan the unbeaten player for the home team, while Prestwich D drew at home to ELPM A, and Polish Catholic Club beat Elton Vale A 6-4.

Ian Byrne was on top form, winning his three, Eddie Kalinowski won two and Eddie Robakowski one. Mark Craven won two for the visitors, Graham Daniels one and they won the doubles.

Results, tables and player stats in Thursday's Bury Times