MICK Moir and Andy Jackson were the star men for Ramsbottom Town A as they administered an 8-2 thumping on Carlton Club A.

However, the crushing victory was not enough to overhaul early leaders Radcliffe Cricket Club, who were thankful to the unbeaten Graham Jeffries in their narrow 6-4 defeat of BAE.

In Division Two, early pacemakers Seedfield A underlined their title credentials with a 9-1 win against Prestwich F.

Both Andy Hamilton and David Poytress remained unbeaten on the night to defeat the plucky hosts, who pushed hard in every set.

Alan Meltzer was the hero for Maccabi A, with three wins in his side’s 6-4 defeat of Carlton Club B, Dean Clyne adding two.

Polish Catholic Club beat Holmar A 8-2 with Eddie Kalinowski and Liaqat Ali unbeaten for the home team.

Deo Jones, with three victories, led the way for Seedfield B in their 8-2 victory over Maccabi C in Division Three.

Ramsbottom Town B lost 6-4 at home to ELPM B, despite Joe Walk remaining unbeaten for the hosts.

In Division Four, Jack Berry enjoyed three victories for Holmar C in their draw with Shawfield D, while Ramsbottom Academy battled to a hard-fought 6-4 success against Maccabi D.

The opening match of the night was the sign of things to come when Tom Warburton, for Ramsbottom, beat Alan Nesbit at nine in the fifth.

Warburton also beat Buz Cohen at three in the fifth for his second win. Nick Kroll also won two for Ramsbottom, including an eight in the fifth win against Aubrey Huller.

Ramsbottom also retained their unbeaten doubles record when they won at four in the fifth.

Prestwich F beat BGSOB A 9-1, with Alistair Wakefield and Paul Rourke both remaining unbeaten and Rod Hughes adding two.

Division Five side Seedfield D lost 7-3 at home to junior team Maccabi G – Sam Ballin the star of the show. The match stood at three each until Maccabi reeled off the last four sets.

Results, tables and stats in Thursday's Bury Times