RAMSBOTTOM United saw out the 2017/18 season with their awards night, held in the adjacent Cricket Club suite.

Speeches came from manager Mark Fell, chairman Harry Williams and Chris Standring, on behalf of the junior section.

The Rams’ supporters player-of-the-year award went to centre-half Luke Thompson, who has had a superb season at the heart of the defence, while the players’ vote went to winger Jerome Wright, who also ended the campaign as the leading scorer with 18 goals.

The management team named captain Dean Stott as their top player, due to his outstanding consistency in midfield and defence.

Phil Dean’s FA Trophy strike against Shaw Lane in October was named goal of the season.

There was also recognition for club photographer Frank Crook and programme contributor Daz Comer, both of whom were present at every game this season, and thanks were offered to the countless off-field volunteers for their invaluable contributions.

In the junior and reserve-team ranks Harry Foulds – who broke into the first XI – won two awards and Regan Jarrett, who also saw first-team action, was the top goalscorer.

Another good young prospect, Dylan Kane, took home the team’s player-of-the-year award.