FORMER Tottington High School pupils were praised by staff and teachers at their annual presentation evening.

Chairman of governors Jack Kenneford welcomed parents and ex-students, and retired headteacher Alan Scott returned to present certificates and awards.

After the prizes were handed out, new headteacher Mr Brian Duffy thanked the staff, parents and pupils for welcoming him to the school.

He told how he had enjoyed his experience at the school since joining in September and said he had found pupils to be “conscientious, well-mannered and very much well-rounded individuals”.

Helena Garthwright, aged 16, received the school’s ‘special award’ and took home a trophy, certificate and a cheque for £200. Other main prizewinners were: Charlie Price, Co-op Eye Care Scientist of the Year; Catherine Eccleston, Harry Walsh Cup for Services to the School; Joseph Hinde, Lions Cup for Services to the Community; Helen Bradshaw, Nugent Trophy for geography; Millie Gelder, Soroptimists’ Shield for Outstanding Female Student; Emily Colbridge, Bury College Award for Outstanding Performance in GCSE mathematics; Hannah Jones, Holy Cross College Award for Excellence in GCSE English; Luke Cleary, Lions Shield for Sport; Daniel Powell, The Tottington High School Shield for Personal Endeavour; Jordan Bland, Kirkpatrick Shield for Performance in the Workplace; Georgina Jones, Statham Cup for English Literature; Holly Collins, The Golden Jubilee Cup For Excellence in Music; Aimee Ward, Tottington High School Cup for Excellence in ICT; Dean Hargreaves, The Ernest Stevenson Prize for technology.