Round three of the Northern 4s took place at Stockport at the weekend, with Bury looking to maintain their lead over the home side in this six team event.

Chris Parish struck first in race two with a great gate-to-line win against home skipper Terry Norman, followed by two good placings for Neil Howarth and Ben Scranage.

Danny Taylor took second place, while Parish and Will Owens also secured wins, before Scranage was harshly excluded.

The third series of races saw Stockport take four wins with Bury only able to score 12 points.

Parish added his third win in a great reply with Bury securing 13 points from the next four races reduced the deficit to eight points.

There was a fine win by Taylor in the 22nd race, with Howarth, Parish and Owens also taking good seconds from difficult positions.

Kris Ramsden shone for the Meteors with two good wins, but with a few riders carrying injuries, they were always going to struggle.

The final set of races went Stockport’s way as they took three wins to claim top spot. Owens did claim a good victory, but in the end Bury had to settle for the runners-up spot position.

All the Comets were excellent value for their points with Taylor and Parish continuing their excellent form and captain Howarth pleased with his score. For the Meteors, Ramsden impressed with his commitment.

Results: Stockport 71 Bury Comets 59 Astley 58 Heckmondwike 50, Bury Meteors 33 Hull 27 Comets -- Chris Parish 17, Danny Taylor 13, Will Owens 15, Neil Howarth 10, Ben Scranage 3; Meteors – Kris Ramsden 14, Steve Mann 6, Joe Halloran 7, Louis Turner 4, Dan Bowler 2.

In the under-10s event it was Daniel Miller who impressed with 15 points.

David Bowler scored 12 with Angel Etheridge adding a further six points.

Despite Hermione Whalley scoring seven points and Duncan Whalley, eight, it was not enough for the Bury side to take top spot.

Sean Etheridge and Louis Turner scored nine points apiece in the under-13s event, while Danny Taylor also scored nine points in the u16s race against a much older field.

The open event saw Joe Halloran score 12 points, with Chas Whalley and Steve Mann scoring eight points each.