THE full list of candidates vying to claim Bury’s two parliamentary seats at May’s General Election has been announced.

Five candidates will stand in the Bury North seat, and six candidates will contest Bury South.

Candidates for the Conservatives, the Labour Party, the Liberal Democrats, the UK Independence Party and the Green Party will stand in Bury North and Bury South, with the English Democrats also contesting the Bury South seat.

At the 2010 General Election, Conservative David Nuttall claimed the Bury North seat from Labour, winning a 2,243 majority.

And in Bury South, Labour’s Ivan Lewis, who was first elected in 1997, retained the seat with a 3,292 majority.

The full list of candidates is as follows:

Bury North

  • Richard Baum (Liberal Democrats)
  • James Frith (Labour Party)
  • Ian Henderson (UK Independence Party (UKIP))
  • David Nuttall (The Conservative Party Candidate)
  • John Southworth (The Green Party)

Bury South

  • Paul Ankers (Liberal Democrats)
  • Daniel Critchlow (The Conservative Party Candidate)
  • Glyn Heath (The Green Party)
  • Ivan Lewis (Labour Party)
  • Seamus Martin (UK Independence Party (UKIP)
  • Valerie Morris (English Democrats – “Putting England First!”)

The General Election will take place on Thursday, May 7.