LABOUR'S Gavin McGill has won the East ward by-election triggered by the resignation of former leader Mike Connolly.

The full result was as follows:

Nicole Haydock (Green Party) 77

Gavin McGill* (Labour Party) 1419

Andy Minty (Liberal Democrats) 49

Sohail Raja (Conservative Party) 557

Angela Zwierzanski (UK Independence Party) 107

Full story, reaction and analysis to follow