Bury's MPs voted on opposite sides of the spectrum in last night's Rwanda immigration bill.

The Safety of Rwanda Bill passed its second reading on Tuesday, with 313 MPs voting for it compared to 270 against.

The bill is aimed at reviving the government’s asylum policy to remove "certain migrants" to the East African country after it was ruled unlawful by the Supreme Court.

No Tory MPs voted against the bill but some critics on the right of the party rebelled by abstaining.

Read more: Old Man Greenwood’s Traditional Fish and Chips up for sale

Bury North Conservative MP James Daly voted in favour of the bill while Bury South Labour MP Christian Wakeford voted against it.

Read more: Young people from Bury celebrated at Believe and Achieve awards

Rebels who did not vote have been told by Prime Minister Rishi Sunak that he would consider tightening the bill.

Former Home Secretary Suella Braverman and former immigration minister Robert Jenrick, who resigned last week following publication of the bill, were among the high profile Tories to abstain on Tuesday, despite being issued a three-line whip to vote in support of the government.

Read more: Pilsworth Quarry: New recycling plant set for approval

It allows ministers to disapply the Human Rights Act but does not go as far as overriding the European Convention on Human Rights, which Tory hardliners have demanded.

The 63 MPs who did not vote could swing the outcome of any future vote.