RADCLIFFE AC members stepped back in time for the club’s annual presentation night and Christmas party.

The fantastic event at the Bolholt Country Park Hotel had an 80s theme to celebrate the decade in which the club was founded.

The club championship consisted of a maximum of 29 road, trail, fell and cross-country races.

Runners had to compete in at least 10 and there were prizes for each age and gender category from junior up to vet-70.

There was also a special award for 30 members who achieved at least 200 points.

It is named after the club’s former head coach Eileen Royle who died in 2017 and is given to recognise their dedication to the club.

The Terry Nortley Cup, named after the former club president and coach who died in 2011, was awarded to Jenny Yates for her exceptional performances.

She has been chosen to represent England in her age group in next year’s Masters Home International Marathon.

The Radcliffe AC Shield went to social secretary Les Elkins for his outstanding contributions to the club and the Nellie Halstead Trophy, named after the Radcliffe Olympian, was awarded to Fiona Lynch who became the club’s first female member to complete the gruelling Bob Graham round – one of the country’s toughest fell races.

The Norman Schofield Cup, named after a former member, went to Andy Wheeler for his dedication and support of fellow runners.

Deborah Warrington was the most improved woman and Lee Cooper the most improved man.

The cross-country cups were won by Neal Emmerson and Donna Cartwright.

Age category awards: Women – junior – Grace Williams; FSEN – Katie Percival – highest points total and race average; F35 – Amanda Callan – total and average; F40 – Kate Holden –total, Donna Cartwright – average; F45 – Lisa Carter – total, Caroline Malone – average; F50 Jenny Yates – total and average; F55 – Kirsten Cook – total and average; F60 – Sheila Jones – total and average; F70 – Sheila McNulty – total and average.

Men – junior – Lachlan Burke; MSEN – Chris Whittaker – highest points total, Neal Emmerson – highest race average; M40 – Kris Lee – total and average; M45 – Mark Garner – total, Mike Cooke – average; M50 – Dave Rushton – total, Mark Williams – average; M55 – Mike Kontowtt – total and average; M60 – Steve Hamer – total and average; M65 – total and average.

Special thanks were given to Les Elkins and Ian Hopkinson for organising the event.

On the running front, Lisa Donnelly, Christine Berry and Sharon Peterkin wore fancy dress for the Santa Dash four-mile trail race at Horwich.

They finished within seconds of each other, with Lisa crossing the line first in 1hr 8mins 35secs.

Andy Wheeler earned a medal with a difference – one made of chocolate – at the four-mile Burnley Christmas Cracker.