Prestwich Heys captain Aaron Chalmers had a hugely successful night as he picked up three trophies at the club’s awards night at the Coach & Horses, writes Rick Barrett.

He was named Managers Player of the Year, Players’ Player of the Year and Fans Player of the Year after a season that saw him make 41 appearances and score three goals. However, it was his all-round performances and leadership on and off the pitch that earned the award. He consistently led by example and set the tone for the togetherness shown by the whole squad at the turn of the year when they club suffered off the field uncertainty.

Other winners were Matt Davies, whose 25 goals earned him the top scorer award. However, the Fans Goal of the Season went to Nathan Emery. The full back who is just three games short of 100 for Heys, won the Award for his 40-yard finish against Glossop North End. The Managers Goal of the Season went to Greg Daniels, in the 4-1 win over AFC Liverpool in which he scored all four. The one chosen was the culmination of a length of field move which Greg finished with a nutmegged shot into the corner.

Lee O’Brien and James Hampson made a special award of Clubman of the Year to young defender Saidkhon Khamidov, for not just his performances but his overall attitude and dedication to training and the way he conducted himself throughout the season. He was not able to collect his Award however as he is on International duty with Uzebkistan.

A special award was also made to Janice and Lloyd Hyde for their off-field contributions over the season.

On a great and sometimes poignant night, with Lee and James departing, the evening was an appropriate celebration of a season that didn’t seem it was ever going to end and which briefly threatened to be the end of the club. The fact we will be back again in August is testimony to the hard work, dedication and commitment of everyone throughout the season.

n The Full list of winners:

Volunteers of the season Lloyd and Janice Hyde; Fans player of the season - Aaron Chalmers; Fan’s goal of the season - Nathan Emery v Glossop NE home; Managers player of the season - Aaron Chalmers; Managers clubman of the season - Saidkhon Khamidov; Managers goal of the season - Greg Daniels v AFC Liverpool home; Players player of the season - Aaron Chalmers; Top goalscorer - Matt Davies 25 goals.