A LARGE turnout greeted British number one David Causier when he visited Walmersley Conservative Club to play in an exhibition match organised by the Lancashire Trade Frames Ltd-sponsored Bury Billiards League.

Causier was ably supported by the current Yorkshire champion, Matthew Peaker, and two referees, Tom Hughes and John Squires, as the two guest players took on four players from the Bury League in two 30-minute timed sessions.

The two guests then completed the exhibition with another one-hour session against each other.

In the first session, Causier met Aaron Davies who had won the individual merit and all but one of the league matches during the season.

Although Davies contained Causier during the early part of the session, it did not take long for the guest to get going and record his first major break of 170-plus to run out easy winner as the timer stopped.

On the other table, Peaker took on James Fletcher. Peaker started off well and had almost reached 100 before his opponent had barely scored.

Fletcher struggled throughout the session as Peaker scored frequently and recorded a number of breaks over 30.

For the second session, Causier played Trevor Smith, one of the players who won the doubles competition. Smith scored an early run of 10 but then let in Causier who went on to record the evening’s highest break of 458.

Peaker played against the individual merit runner-up, Martin Bennett, scoring breaks of 68 and 124. Although Bennett managed a slight comeback it was the visitor who ran out the comfortable winner. All was therefore set for the final confrontation between the two guests.

Causier had really got into the groove and began with another early break of 175 and followed this shortly afterwards with further breaks of 200-plus and 300-plus to reach 1,000 points in the time allotted. Following the final session the league trophies were presented Roll of honour for 2013 League champions: Bury Snooker Club.

Runners-up: Dobbies S&SC.

Team KO winners: Elton Liberal Club B.

Runners-up: Bury Snooker Club.

Individual winner: Aaron Davies.

Runner-up: Martin Bennett.

Double Competition winners: Trevor Smith/Trevor Burns.

Runners-up: Sid Ash/Neil Oddie.

Highest League break: Jack McLaughlin (97).

Best average: Jack McLaughlin.

Best Veteran average: John Birtwhistle.