TOTTINGTON A had little chance after the first frame of their Jim Brooks pairs match against Elton Lib B when James Kay made a fantastic 84 clearance and a lead of 83.

Lee Armstrong and Phil Hughes won the second frame 61-26 for Tottington but Frank Molinuex and Paul Walsh won the last frame 60-42 seeing Elton home. Walshaw were the giant killers of the second round with a fine win at Radcliffe Central A.

Brothers Paul and Andrew Davis set them on their way, winning the opening game 91-25. Seedfield B won all three frames at Radcliffe Central B. Steve Chant and G McGovern had the best win of the night in the first frame win 71-54.

The only Radcliffe team to progress into the third round of the pairs were Central D. They won all three games against A section Whitefield B and ran out easy winners 213-95. Seedfield A never got back on terms with Bury Snooker B after Tony Baker and Gareth Haynes won the first frame 79-39.

Tony Wainwright and Grant Nuttall won the opening frame 93-52 against Huntley Con C. This helped them gain victory by 47 points.

When Buchanans B entertained Elton Lib A in the final pairs match, John Riley and Alan Rothwell won the third frame by 28 points which gave them a winning margin of 38 chalks at the end of the evening. The only game in the Arthur Dykes four-man competition was between Tottington B and Radcliffe Central C.

The snooker club were never in danger of losing after Alan Wardle won the third frame 78-38.

Bury Snooker D are the only side to make it through to the last eight of all three competitions after they again got the better of the holders Elton Lib C in the John Spencer trophy. Elton took a 2-0 lead with good wins from Alan Brooks and Steve Platt. Ged Young started the fight back and Mark Turner then won the fourth frame 81-41 leaving it down to captain Sal Amin to guide Bury home. Salisbury Con beat Radcliffe St Mary’s, Martin Campbell securing a 65-14 win in the third frame.

Buchanan’s SSC A were another side to have a whitewash when they proved too strong for Huntley A.

Walmersley Con had a great win at the expense of A section leaders Tottington D Michael Lomax and Craig Taylor won the last two frames which sealed victory for the league newcomers.

Centuries: James Kay Elton Lib B 107 Breaks: James Kay/Dave Toth (Pairs) Elton Lib B 84 unfinished, Mick Holleran Buchanans SSCA 33.