THE battle for Bury and District Open Snooker League’s A Section title went down to the wire this week with four teams still in with a shout of glory.

In the end, it was Tottington Con D who secured the trophy, having started the evening locked together on points with rivals Buchanans A, while Bury Snooker D and Elton B were six points further back.

First blood belonged to Buchanans who won their opening frame against Radcliffe Central A. Meanwhile, Tottington at home to Bury Snooker D, lost the opening frame with Sal Amin winning 80-32 to secure the most frames award for any player in the A Section. At the same time, Elton Lib B, who needed a big win, got off to a flyer, taking the first three frames at home to Whitefield B. Buchanans’ opening promise was shortlived as they lost the next four frames, effectively ending their challenge. Tottington secured the second and third frames, which ended Bury’s hopes of beating them to the title, but, needing one more frame to secure the trophy, lost the fourth frame to Bury. Elton Lib B piled on the pressure, winning the remaining frames to complete an 8-0 success against Whitefield B. Tottington needed to win one of the last two frames to secure the title and up stepped Tottington’s Ian Brearley to take the fifth impressively, 75-25. Bury’s Mark Turner capped a fine individual season to take the final frame, but the night and the season belonged to Tottington Con D as they ran out 5-3 winners to become champions.

Elton Lib B’s 8-0 win secured second place, just pipping Buchanans A for most frame wins. In the other matches, Huntley A secured fourth with a fine 7-1 victory at home to Salisbury, while Bury Snooker B won 6-2 at home to Fishpool.

A delegates’ meeting will take place at Bury Bridge WMC on April 25, starting at 8pm.

The Queen Anne Glass invitational event will go ahead at Radcliffe Central Snooker Club on April 24, starting at 7.30pm.

A Section: Tottington Con D 5 (5) Bury Snooker D 3 (0), Elton Lib B 8 (4) Whitefield B 0 (1), Buchanans SSC A 2 (1) Radcliffe Central A 7 (4), Huntley A 7 (1) Salisbury 1 (4), Bury Snooker B 6 (1) Fishpool 2 (4).
Breaks: Tony Baker 31 (Bury Snooker B).
Centuries: Paul Jones 107 (Bury Snooker B).
Most frame wins
A Section: Sal Amin (Bury Snooker D) 15.
B Section: Keegan Cubbins (Radcliffe Central C ), Anthony Milne (Elton Lib C) 15.
C Section: Andy Eckersley (Radcliffe Central B) 14.
Highest breaks
A Section: David Hunt 78 (Elton Lib B).
B Section: Alan Brooks 73 (Elton Lib C).
C Section: Andy Eckersley 53 (Radcliffe Central B).