C Section Bury Bridge WMC produced the performance of the night by defeating A Section Buchanans SSC A in the first round of the Jim Brooks Pair in the Bury District Open Snooker League.

Graham Spencer/Harry Holmes won the first frame 75-19 and the Bridge went on taking the last two games and won the match 221-130. Seedfield Bowling B were another team to beat a team from an higher league when they beat Salisbury Con 213-138.

Bryce Crux/Paul Eslick had the best win on the night 80-33 for the bowling club. Elton Lib B and C teams both had easy wins against Radcliffe Central B and C teams, the B won 187-140 while the C won all three frames and had a 49 point advantage at the end of the evening.

Radcliffe Central C never recovered after Paul Jones made a break of 46 in the first frame for Bury Snooker D. Bury Snooker C beat Whitefield Bowling Club, Tony Burns and Matt Heaton won the second frame 79-32 for the snooker club.

In the Walshaw derby, the B team made it into round two mainly due to Bob Capron and Paul Hughes 67- 32 last frame win. Radcliffe Central D made the long trip to Ramsbottom but were rewarded with a victory against Buchanans SSC B.

They won all three frames but only had 49 points in hand at the end. Radcliffe Central E continued their good run of form when they proved too strong for Huntley A, Tony Green and Zia Aslam were in good touch winning the second frame 81-26. Radcliffe St Mary’s won all three frames at home against Walmersley Con.

Steve Parry and Geoff Farington secured the match when winning the final frame 69-40. Huntley Con B and Tottington Con D were another two sides to record whitewashes. The Duck club beat Heaton Park SC 193-125, J Roberts and D Derbyshire had the best win of the night 74-39. A section Champions ran out easy winners 179-102 at Fishpool Lib.