RADCLIFFE Central A held their nerve to claim the A Section title in the Bury and District Open Snooker League.

They went into their final match at home to Elton Lib C one point ahead of second-placed Tottington D.

Their 7-1 win meant that Tottington would have needed a whitewash at home to Whitefield B to draw level, but they could only win 6-2.

Oliver Barlow did his bit for Tottington though, taking the league’s frame wins honour with his 14th of the season.

At the other end of the table, Elton Lib A were relegated despite winning 5-4 away at Fishpool. They needed at least seven points and for their club rivals, Elton Lib B, to draw a blank.

In the B Section, Salisbury B confirmed their promotion with a win over Seedfield A.

Bury Snooker B were confirmed as champions, despite their defeat at Radcliffe Central D. Bury’s Mark Burns was confirmed as the B Section’s “Most Valuable Player”, securing the title with 14 wins from 18.

Stanley emerged victorious in their relegation showdown with Tottington A.

Huntley C edged the C Section title after beating title challengers Radcliffe Central C 6-2. They finished level with Radcliffe on 100 points but finished as champions by virtue of their higher frame wins total.

Steve Murray and Alan Norris tied the frame wins total with 12.