TREBLES from Andy Jackson and Mark Ramsbottom helped Ramsbottom Town A maintain a tight grip on the Division One title race in the Bury and District Table Tennis League.

The league leaders scored a comprehensive 9-1 win at Burning Desire, keeping them ahead of second-placed Radcliffe Cricket Club, who trounced Prestwich A 10-0. Rob Hall, Phil Biggs and Mick Dore were the unbeaten Radcliffe trio.

Bottom side St Philip’s beat Prestwich B 8-2 at home thanks to three wins each from Dennis Collier and Brett Haslam.

BAE also won 8-2 at home against Prestwich C. Tom Lang and Tony Bates were unbeaten for BAE.

Maccabi A beat Carlton Vale 9-1 at home to maintain a five-point lead in Division Two, with Dean Clyne and Stuart Landes scoring three wins apiece.

Second-placed Seedfield Methodists A kept the pressure on though, beating Prestwich D 8-2 at home thanks to trebles from David Poytress and Peter Mears.

Seedfield remain in the second promotion spot, four points ahead of SP Carlton, who 7-3 at bottom side Holmar A despite only having two players. John Biggins and Dave Holden both won their three matches and claimed the doubles.

Prestwich E moved out of the drop zone with a 6-4 win at home to Elton Vale A. None of the Prestwich players could get the better of Graham Daniels.

Polish Catholic Club were a man down, but still managed to win 6-4 at Carlton Club B. Ian Byrne was unbeaten for Polish.

Division Three leaders Hilton YMCA are assured of promotion after claiming the last two sets of the night to earn a hard-fought 6-4 win at second-bottom Shawfield A.

Ramsbottom Town B clinched the doubles at nine in the fifth to edge second-placed Seedfield B 6-4 at home. Neil Booth made the difference with three wins for Ramsbottom.

Maccabi C stayed out of the relegation places thanks to a comprehensive 10-0 away win over an under-strength Seedfield C side in Division Three. Alan Nesbit and brothers Marc and Daniel Sheldon were the unbeaten Maccabi players.

Carlton Club C drew at home with Shawfield B. Carlton’s John Bostock was the only player to remain unbeaten.

Maccabi B beat Elton Vale B 8-2 at home. Robert Clayton and Robert Williams were unbeaten for Maccabi.

Prestwich F extended their lead at the top of Division Four with a 10-0 win over bottom side Holmar C. Alistair Wakefield won his three to keep him at the top of the averages, and there were also trebles for Paul Rourke.

Second-placed Shawfield C secured promotion with an 8-2 home win over Maccabi E. Peter Gregory was the unbeaten player for Shawfield.

Shawfield D gave themselves a two-point cushion over relegation rivals Prestwich G with one match to play after beating them 6-4 away from home. Bob Goodman won his customary three for Prestwich but it wasn’t enough.

Bury Grammar School Old Boys A beat junior team Ramsbottom Table Tennis Academy A 6-4 at home. Barry Warburton and Andy Evans were unbeaten for Bury Grammar.

Maccabi D beat their F team 6-4 thanks to a treble from Sheldon Lee.

Division Five leaders Shawfield E showed their title-winning class with a 9-1 win over their G team. James Collier and Peter Helmn were the unbeaten players on the night.

Bottom side Seedfield E lost 9-1 to another junior team, Maccabi G, with Sam Ballin and Ashley Landes winning their three.

ELPM D beat Seedfield D 8-2 at home. Anthony Vindice and Lawrence Paynter were unbeaten for ELPM.

Ramsbottom TT Academy B were beaten 7-3 at home by Holmar D, despite the heroics of eight-year-old Amir Hussain, who won his three.

An under-strength Wardle Conservative Club drew 5-5 at home to Shawfield G.